Sleep Week 2020

SleepHero banner 1900x500px 0920

Sleep Week 2020


Hosted by the Sleep Health Foundation (SHF) and the Australian Sleep and Alertness Consortium (ASAC)

Friday October 23 at 7-8pm (Happy Hour) during Sleep Week 2020


We are pleased to announce the winner of tonights Emerging Sleep Hero Award was Clare Ladyman from Massey University in NZ, second place went to Meagan Crowther from CQU Adelaide and third place Hailey Meaklim from Monash Uni Melb. Thank you to Dr Amy Reynolds for hosting this event and to our judges, Dr Alex Wolkow, Dr Amal Osman and Dr Tahereh Tekieh, and the Australasian Sleep Association for holding this event as part of it Sleep Week activities. We also thank the session sponsors ResMed.


The Emerging Sleep Hero Award is an initiative of the Foundation's Marketing & Communications committee.  The Emerging Sleep Hero Award will take place during the Sleep Health Foundation (SHF) symposium at the Australasian Sleep Association (ASA)’s “Sleep Week 2020”. A total of five selected finalists will present their research during the one-hour, online symposium held 7-8pm (AEDT) on Friday October 23, 2020.

We are proud to sponsor a symposium that focuses on the future leaders in the field of sleep. It will be a fun, relaxed, informal event and a forum in which the Foundation can continue to inform the local sleep community of its mission and objectives.

Thank you to ResMed for their support of this Award.

And the five finalists are:

Meagan Crowther, Central Queensland University SA
Clare Ladyman, Massey University, Wellington NZ
Hailey Meaklim, Turner Institute, Monash University VIC
Karen Redhead, University of Notre Dame WA
Lucy Ymer, Turner Institute, Monash University VIC

All participants have now been notified if their entry has been successful or not.

We want to thank everyone who entered. All entries received were a very high quality and it was difficult for our judges to choose. 

The three judges for the evening of the final are Early Career Researchers from SA, NSW and Victoria; Dr Amal Osman, Dr Tahereh Tekieh and Dr Alex Wolkow.  The event will be hosted by Dr Amy Reynolds from Adelaide. And there will also be live polling for “The People’s Choice” winner.  Come and cheer your colleagues on.

You can register (free for the Happy Hour events) here:

  • The winners, from the five finalists, will be announced at the live event, at the conclusion of the event.
  • The People’s Choice will be announced at the live event, at the conclusion of the event.